New Honor Society Installed at UofSC Aiken

Friday, November 20th, 2020

The University of South Carolina Aiken announced the installation of a new chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta on its campus Wednesday, November 4, 2020. This marked the 385th chapter of the honor society since its inception over 95 years ago.

Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD), founded in 1924, is a national honor society recognizing students' academic success in their first year at a college or university. ALD has over a million lifetime members and is present on over 280 campuses nationwide.
The chapter at the UofSC Aiken was installed under the direction of chapter advisors Jason Munsell, associate professor of communication, and Christian Medders, assistant director of student life. Both were instrumental in founding this new chapter on campus. Medders says that the "ceremony when very well and that the university is excited to have ALD on campus." The new chapter was presented with a hand-calligraphed charter featuring names of the 41 founding members and 2 honorary members of the Society.

"Now we have an ALD chapter and new members here at UofSC Aiken, but this is just the beginning. We hope to become an active campus organization to help all of our students, as the ALD national ritual proclaims, to 'live significantly,'" added Munsell.

Members not only celebrated their academic success, but are now eligible for national scholarships and fellowships, programs to develop their leadership skills, and resources to help define the path to their career.
Eileen Merberg, the Executive Director of Alpha Lambda Delta, welcomed the UofSC Aiken chapter, "We wish to emphasize the chapter's responsibilities to uphold the ideals and high academic standards of Alpha Lambda Delta. Members will be encouraged to demonstrate their scholarship, honor, and enthusiasm for learning, and prove a creative working force on the University of South Carolina Aiken campus for 'we must pass our torches on, one to another.'"

According to its website, Alpha Lambda Delta's mission is to "encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their unique roles in society."


UofSC Aiken Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta Inductees


Albert O'Neal Jackson (Aiken, SC)

Andrew Thomas Randolph (Aiken, SC)

Anna Alise Hawcroft (Aiken, SC)

Ashley Marie Bush (Aiken, SC)

Hallie Katherine Anderson (Aiken, SC)

Kylei Isis-Lynn Walker (Aiken, SC)

Melinda Mills Barron (Aiken, SC)

Michaela Jenae Hall (Aiken, SC)

Robert Reeves Walters (Aiken, SC)

Zachary Shirey (Aiken, SC)

Alexis Brianna Washington (Andrews, SC)

Andrew Travis Tompkins (Anderson, SC)

Chloe Towne (Barnwell, SC)

Kimberly Gwen Zorn (Barnwell, SC)

Macie Lauren Grantham (Batesburg, SC)

Sahura Adriana Henry (Beech Island, SC)

Chynesah Kenyel Sims (Blackville, SC)

Daija Laura Smalls (Blackville, SC)

Kaniesha Maggie Smalls (Blackville, SC)

Kinsley Nicole Richardson (Columbia, SC)

Taylor Imani Averette (Columbia, SC)

Gracie Elizabeth Taylor (Gilbert, SC)

McKayla Lynne Lowman (Gilbert, SC)

Molly Crescent Gilbreath (Graniteville, SC)

Gabrielle Anne Lubrio Nagorite (Greer, SC)

Anna Grace Langley (Lancaster, SC)

Alexis Nicole DeMeza (Lexington, SC)

Elizabeth Abigail McCormick (Lexington, SC)

Alexis Williams (North Augusta, SC)

Katey Ellis Rogers (North Augusta, SC)

Kayla Hartsock (North Augusta, SC)

Meredith Marie Gregory (North Augusta, SC)

Patricia Abigail Branson (North Augusta, SC)

Ralph Leslie Mabe (North Augusta, SC)

Jourdan Alyssa Gruber (North Charleston, SC)

Anissa Baksh (Warrenville, SC)

Katelyn Cassidy Hutto (Warrenville, SC)



Kyle Madison Hoobler (Evans, GA)

Lakeira Keshara Uneak Nelson (Hamilton, GA)



Ithzel Zacil Contrera (Eagle Pass, Texas)



Faith Adeola Oladejo (Ibadan, Nigeria)