New Commissioners Appointed to Aiken Technical College’s Governing Board

Staff Report From Aiken CEO

Friday, August 12th, 2016

South Carolina Gov. Nikki R. Haley has appointed two new Commissioners to the Aiken County Commission for Technical and Comprehensive Education, the governing board for Aiken Technical College.

The newest Commissioners, Virginia (Ginger) Hawkins and Keyatta Priester, were formally introduced Monday during the Commission’s regular meeting.

Hawkins is the Chief Nurse Officer at Aiken Regional Medical Centers where she has helped influence the strategic direction and aligns nursing goals to improve quality, patient safety and transform culture. In addition to the Commission, she also serves on the Community Medical Clinic of Aiken County board, American Red Cross-Aiken Area board, and the CSRA Nursing Workforce Coalition. Hawkins is a member of the American Nurses Association, South Carolina Nurses Association, American Organization of Nurse Executives, American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, Sigma Theta Tau Nursing Honor Society, and is a 2015 graduate of Leadership Aiken County.

Priester is the Community Development Manager for Aiken Electric Cooperative, Inc. where she has worked to cultivate and develop lasting relationships in the community. She serves on the United Way of Aiken County board, the Aiken Family Y board, the Aiken County Public School District Early Learning advisory board, and Tim Scott’s John Moniz Champion of Hope advisory council. Priester is also involved in the Rotary Club of Aiken, Aiken Community Service Networking Group and is a member of the Midland Valley, Aiken and North Augusta chambers of commerce.